Course Correction…

Sometimes I can be jogging along the road, running straight ahead, focused on the finished line or getting to the next step, and before I know it, I am on my own. Somehow I have managed to veer off course. When that happens, I’m left scratching my head and wondering, “How did that happen? Where did God and I part ways?” Maybe God took a breather or a right turn a few blocks back, and somehow, I was “in the zone” moving along with zeal and completely missing the fact that the course had changed, or that it was not a straight line from point A to point B.

It can be so challenging, and downright difficult, to be filled with the desire, enthusiasm, and passion to get to point B only to find that, not only is point B a moving target, but that point B also seemingly moves without any rhyme or reason. When I feel so called to something, my prayer and reflection points to it, and comments and feedback from others support me moving in that direction, it can be so trying when that thing seems so close, but then turns out to seem far beyond reach. I can’t help but wonder, “What the heck! I thought we were on the same page!” Frustration would be a mild term for the feeling.

When that happens, it is like a flashing red light appears and I can almost hear “wheeee-oooooo,” “wheeee-oooooo,” “wheeee-oooooo,” beckoning me to put the brakes on and pull over to the side. As much as I might prefer to charge ahead, after all this is the course. It has already been decided! (Or, has it?)

I find it is only by coming to a standstill and regrouping with God, and sometimes also with the help of close family or friends, that I am able to take a deep breath and to move toward accepting that perhaps, the time has not yet arrived. I recall the past, and the things that God has made possible in my life, even when they seemed so far out of reach. I am reminded that nothing is impossible for God, that God really does know best, and that I need to let these experiences help me to keep trusting that God is with me, and that God’s timing is impeccable. With this, I feel grateful once again and am able to say, “Okay, God. I’m ready to get back on track. I’m ready to take it slow. You lead and I will follow. Let’s walk on.”

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y-8L3GO1-CI

Leave a Reply

