When Truth Comes…

Sometimes it can be hard to know what the right thing, the good thing, to do in a situation is…And sometimes, it can be even harder to do that thing.

Growing up, I remember singing a hymn at church that had the words, “All of you who have been baptized in Christ, have put on Christ. Alleluia.” It was one of my favorite hymns. I recall singing the words in English, Greek and Arabic during liturgy.

What I remember most, though, are the feelings that were evoked and how deeply touched my soul was as I was singing alongside fellow parishioners. There was no organ or instruments (although I have come to appreciate and enjoy their presence in the years since).  Just a church full of people responding and singing, and it seemed everyone was responding and singing. How good and uplifting it was…the Truth proclaimed and fully alive…Spirit so present.

As I reflect on that time and on doing the right thing, the good thing, now, I think about what it means to me to be created in the image of God and to be a disciple. I believe with all of my heart and all of my soul that despite what the world around me may think or say, or even do, I am called to do the right thing and I have been given (we all have been given) the gifts to do so. It is a call from birth, and my faith and religious tradition tell me it has been sealed through Baptism, and that through God’s grace I am capable of answering that call, doing what is right, no matter what the circumstances.

I remind myself of my experience when I pray about a situation honestly and with openness. That is, when I pour my heart out to God, sharing more than what I would like to see or how I would like to see it…Sharing all my thoughts, hopes and fears, with a heart that desires to do right by God, more than anything else, the path for me to take becomes very clear.

Sometimes the path calls me to say, “No. I will not go along.” Calling me to stand up and speak up, loud and clear, in the name of love, truth, mercy and justice. I need to trust that God, who led me to it, will see me through it, and even though it may be difficult and may cause discomfort or pain, I need to do it, because it is the right thing, the good thing, to do. In doing it, I am brought back to singing that hymn as a child…How good and uplifting it is…the Truth proclaimed and fully alive…Spirit so present. Alleluia!

“Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly, as in all wisdom you teach and admonish one another, singing psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs with gratitude in your hearts to God. And whatever you do, in word or in deed, do everything in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.” – Col 3:16-17

Leave a Reply

