Gifts from God are Everlasting…

About a week ago, it was the month and date of the last time I was together with all of my siblings. A number of us had traveled a good distance south to be there. The six of us were present and engaged, laughing and talking with each other.

I don’t recall what the weather was like that day, but the sun was shining. At least I remember feeling that way…surrounded by warmth and love. We were gathered in a room, eating lunch and spending time together prior to the youngest of us starting preparations for another bone marrow transplant. Despite the impending procedure, I recall feeling joy in the moments of our togetherness.

Our time together that day ended and some of us returned north. Afterward, I spoke with my younger brother by phone. We were talking about our lunch together with all of our older siblings. We spoke about how much we enjoyed being together. Then he said, “I wish we could be together all the time.” I remember saying, “Yeah, but we would probably get on each other’s nerves if we were together all the time.” Then we joked about how it would be fine as long as we had space to retreat to, we could live on a cul-de-sac with a house for each of us, numbered 1 through 6 of course…we laughed. Growing up many a thing was labeled with our birth order number so as for us to easily identify our belongings.

While seven years have passed now since that day in May, sometimes it seems as if it were just yesterday. None of us knew that day, that the next time we would be together would come so soon…and with one less voice. My brother passed away a little more than a month later.

Every year around the anniversary of that day, I feel such sadness and heartache at first. Then, as I recall the day and the spirit in which we were together I feel so grateful for that one last time all together, and all the days we had together leading up to it. Each time I recall that experience, or any other time with my younger brother, I can picture his handsome face and mischievous smile. It is as if, in that moment, our spirits bow to each other and I know he lives on…encouraging me to remember there is beauty in each moment…to embrace and cherish it. Reminding me that what really matters cannot be taken away, not even by death.

One Voice by The Wailin’ Jennys – https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bc6HloRYZGc

This is the sound of one voice
One spirit, one voice
The sound of one who makes a choice
This is the sound of one voice

This is the sound of voices two
The sound of me singing with you
Helping each other to make it through
This is the sound of voices two

This is the sound of voices three
Singing together in harmony
Surrendering to the mystery
This is the sound of voices three

This is the sound of all of us
Singing with love and the will to trust
Leave the rest behind it will turn to dust
This is the sound of all of us

This is the sound of one voice
One people, one voice
A song for every one of us
This is the sound of one voice

This is the sound of one voice

DJM2Drum

Leave a Reply

