Abide with me…

Driving down the highway the other day, I was thinking about some recent news and feeling a little troubled. As I was contemplating what had happened, the words in the song playing in the background interrupted my thoughts. “Abide with me, abide with me.” The repeated phrase shifted my attention to the lyrics of the song.

Oftentimes life can be thrown into flux with little or, sometimes, no warning. Experiencing trials however big or small, or seeing and hearing about devastation whether caused by Mother Nature or human nature can be both eye opening and eye popping. It can be gut wrenching to live through yet alone witness such happenings. However, it can also lead to better things and better days… a changed course… a new path… unexpected blessings. Still though, it can be hard to swallow and to accept that much in life is beyond our control. From the moment of conception, transition and uncertainty are very much part of everyone’s journey.

Jesus said to Peter, “Get behind me Satan! You are an obstacle to me. You are thinking not as God does, but as human beings do” (Matthew 16:23). St. Paul counseled the Romans, “Do not conform yourselves to this age but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and pleasing and perfect” (Romans 12:2). Ultimately, we all belong to God and as such, to each other as well—all created in one image (Genesis 1:27).

When we hold onto this knowledge and allow it to come to life in us and through us, we are changed for the better, with each moment. When we cling to God, “what is good and pleasing and perfect,” no matter how foreign it may be to others, becomes clear. All we ever really need to do is to abide in the One who abides with us.

Abide With Me – performed by Matt Maher

https://youtu.be/MuGV4mOyPK0?t=1s

I have a home, eternal home
But for now I walk this broken world
You walked it first, You know our pain
But You show hope can rise again up from the grave

Abide with me, abide with me
Don’t let me fall, and don’t let go
Walk with me and never leave
Ever close, God abide with me

There in the night, Gethsemane
Before the cross, before the nails
Overwhelmed, alone You prayed
You met us in our suffering and bore our shame

Abide with me, abide with me
Don’t let me fall, and don’t let go
Walk with me and never leave
Ever close, God abide with me

Oh love that will not ever let me go
Love that will not ever let me go
You never let me go
Love that will not ever let me go
Oh You never let us go

And up ahead, eternity
We’ll weep no more, we’ll sing for joy, abide with me


Matt Maher, David Crowder, Jason Ingram, Matt Redman
© 2015 Sony/ATV Tree Publishing / I Am A Pilgrim Songs (BMI) / David Criwder designee/Sony/ATV Timber Publishing/Open Hands Music (SESAC)/Matt Redman designee